• 02.01.2015

Crispy Breast

I got this crispy bread recipe from Schelli, who had previously attended a course in Richemont. This course was about “active wheat sourdough”, an active foundation sourdough without the addition of baker’s yeast can only be achieved if it is prepared in several stages. It is only through repeated feeding that the sourdough yeasts develop their full capacity, but it must be taken into account that the temperature should always be constant and not subject to excessive fluctuations. If the foundation sourdough temperature falls below 25 ° C, the development time is delayed and there is a risk of producing more acetic acid. The wheat flours used can have different degrees of grinding, but a higher degree of grinding results in more active development of the sourdough.

I recently posted a bread recipe with the same production method for this sourdough on the blog, so I took the liberty of changing this recipe a little. Since my wheat base is very active, I only fed it once, but added some yeast to the pre-dough – WHY?

I just think that many bakers shy away from continually refreshing, because a base sourdough that is refreshed too late forms more acetic acid, which would later lead to problems during further processing. Even if the basic sourdough is refreshed several times, too much leftover sourdough is created for many, because only 30% of the mature basic sourdough is required for further processing for the next batch.

For those that want to make this bread without yeast must refresh the starter at least 3 times! I tried to recipe both with and without yeast and both worked. The picture gallery shown below is the result without yeast. Since I couldn’t detect much of a different, I would choose to use the following recipe. 

Recipe

Basic wheat sourdough:

  • 70g Wheat flour Type 700
  • 40g Water
  •    5g Starter

DT: 28-30°C Maturity time: 8-12 hours (should double in volume)

For those that want to bake without yeast, you must once again feed the sourdough:

  • 44g mature basic sourdough
  • 44g Wheat flour Type 700
  • 27g Water

This process is repeated until the basic sourdough can double its volume in 3-4 hours! Careful: dough temperature: 28-30°C

Pre-dough:

  • 115g Mature basic sourdough
  • 120g Water
  • 130g Wheat flour Type 700
  •   70g Wheat flour Type 1600
  •     1g Sea salt
  •     1g Yeast (dissolve in water)

Mixing time: 6 minutes slow  DT: 26-28°C Maturity time: 6-8 hours at room temperature (Double in volume)

Main dough:

  • 437g Mature pre-dough
  • 410g Wheat flour Type 700
  • 200g Wheat meal, fine
  • 378g Water
  •   15g Sea salt

Mixing time: 7/4 Min DT: 28-30°C Dough maturity: 75-90 minutes at room temperature

After the dough has been well kneaded, it is placed in an oiled dough tun. It now rises for a further 90 minutes, covered during which it is folded every 30 minutes. After the prescribed dough maturity, it is divided into 2 equal-sized pieces and shaped into round loaves. 

Allow to relax briefly then form into elongated loaves (when forming you should ensure that tension is built into the dough surface- this results in a better oven-spring on the scored side).

Set to proof at room temperature for 75-90 minutes either in a linen cloth with the seam-side down or in a proofing basket with the seam-side up.

Once the dough has reach ⅔ of final proof, they are stored in the refrigerator at 2-4°C. The ⅔ proofed loaves now mature for another 4-8 hours in the refrigerator. In this cooling phase the bread develops more flavor compounds. 

The bread is baked at 250°C reduced to 200°C. Place seam-side down and score down the middle with a sharp razor blade- provide plenty of steam and to get a better oven spring the steam should remain in the oven for 15 minutes- only after this is the steam released from the oven. 

To get the full flavor of the bread, the baking time should not be less than 55 minutes.

Eingereicht auf YeastSpotting

• 02.01.2015

Knusperbrot

Dieses Rezept vom Knusperbrot bekam ich von Schelli, der zuvor einen Kurs in Richemont besucht hatte. In diesem Kurs ging es um „Triebfähigen Weizensauerteig“, den einen triebfähigen Grundsauerteig ohne Beigabe von Backhefe erreicht man nur, wenn man diesen in mehreren Stufen ansetzt. Erst durch das mehrmalige füttern entwickeln die Sauerteighefen ihre volle Triebleistung, es ist aber dabei zu berücksichtigen, das die Temperatur immer konstant und keinen allzu großen Schwankungen unterliegen soll. Wenn die Grundsauertemperatur unter 25°C gerät, verzögert sich die Entwicklungszeit, und man läuft in Gefahr mehr Essigsäure zu produzieren. Die eingesetzten Weizenmehle können unterschiedliche Ausmahlungsgrade aufweisen, jedoch erreicht man bei einem höheren Ausmahlungsgrad eine aktivere Entwicklung des Sauerteiges.

Erst vor kurzen stellte ich ein Brotrezept mit der gleichen Herstellungsmethode dieses Sauerteiges in den Blog, daher habe ich mir erlaubt, dieses Rezept ein wenig abzuändern. Da mein Weizengrundsauer sehr aktiv ist, habe ich diesen nur einmal gefüttert, hatte aber dafür im Vorteig etwas Hefe beigemengt – WARUM?

Ich glaube einfach, das viele Backfreunde das abermalige Auffrischen etwas scheuen, denn ein zu spät aufgefrischter Grundsauerteig bildet mehr Essigsäure, die später auch bei der Weiterverarbeitung zu Problemen führen würden. Auch beim mehrmaligen Auffrischen des Grundsauers entsteht für viele einfach zu viel an Restsauerteig, denn es werden immer nur 30% des reifen Grundsauers zur Weiterverarbeitung für den nächste Ansatzstufe benötigt.

Wer aber trotzdem dieses Brot ohne Hefe herstellen möchte, der muss den Grundsauer mind. 3 mal auffrischen! Ich habe die Rezepte mit und ohne Hefe probiert, und beides hat geklappt. Die unten angeführte Bildergalerie wurde ohne Hefe gebacken. Da ich aber geschmacklich keinen Unterschied feststellen konnte, würde ich die angeführte Rezeptur wählen.

Rezept

Weizengrundsauer:

  • 70g Weizenmehl Type 700
  • 40g Wasser
  •    5g Anstellgut

TT: 28-30°C     RZ: 8-12 Std (Volumen sollte sich verdoppeln)

Wer aber die Variante ohne Hefe wählt, der muss diesen reifen Grundsauer nochmals ansetzten:

  • 44g reifer Grundsauer
  • 44g Weizenmehl Type 700
  • 27g Wasser

Diesen Vorgang wiederholt man so oft, bis sich der Grundsauer sein Volumen innerhalb 3-4Stunden verdoppelt hat! Vorsicht: TT: 28-30°C

Vorteig:

  • 115g reifer Grundsauer
  • 120g Wasser
  • 130g Weizenmehl Type 700
  •   70g Weizenmehl Type 1600
  •      1g Meersalz
  •      1g Hefe (im Wasser auflösen)

MZ: 6 Minuten langsam      TT: 26-28°C     RZ: 6-8Stunden bei Raumtemperatur (Verdoppelung des Volumens)

Hauptteig:

  • 437g reifer Vorteig
  • 410g Weizenmehl Type 700
  • 200g Weizenschrot fein
  • 378g Wasser
  •    15g Meersalz

MZ: 7/4 Min     TT: 28-30°C     TR: 75-90 Minuten bei Raumtemperatur

Nachdem der Teig schön ausgeknetet wurde, wird dieser in eine geölte Wanne befördert. Zugedeckt reift dieser für weitere 90 Minuten und wird dazwischen alle 30Minuten gefaltet. Nach der eingehaltenen Teigreife wird der Teig in 2 gleich große Teigstücke geteilt und zu runden Laiben geformt.

Kurz entspannen lassen und zu länglichen Broten formen (beim einschlagen sollte darauf geachtet werden, das sich im Teiggerüst Spannung entwickelt – besser Ofentrieb an der Schnittfläche.

Mit dem Schluss nach unten in einem Leinentuch oder mit dem Schluss nach oben im Gärkorb (Simperl)reifen die geformten Teigstücke bei Raumtemperatur für 75-90 Minuten.

Nachdem die Teigstücke 2/3Gare erreicht haben, werden diese weiter bei 2-4°C im Kühlschrank gelagert. Die 2/3 gegarten Teiglinge reifen nun noch für 4-8Stunden im Kühlschrank, denn in dieser Kühlphase entwickelt das Brot noch weitere Aromastoffe.

Gebacken wird das Brot bei 250°C fallend auf 200°C. Schluss nach unten und mit einer scharfen Klinge in der Mitte schneiden – kräftig Schwaden geben und um einen starken Ofentrieb zu gewährleisten, sollte der Schwaden für mindestens 15 Minuten im Ofen verweilen – erst danach wird der Schwaden aus dem Ofen abgelassen.

Um den vollen Geschmack des Brotes zu erreichen, sollte die Backzeit 55 Minuten nicht unterschreiten.

Eingereicht auf YeastSpotting