100% Rye Loaf

After a short break, we are going into the weekend with 100% rye bread. Pure rye breads have a somewhat stronger taste and have a longer shelf life. In the case of pure rye bread, however, the amount of water, baking time and amounts of yeast should only be seen as guidelines in recipes.

I usually prefer a long dough maturity,, but with pure rye bread I don’t find the long dough maturity necessary after kneading! Since the dough does not contain any wheat flour, there is no gluten formation when mixed.  So why let the dough stand for a long time? The taste of rye bread is created exclusively by the sourdough, so it is sufficient to just rest for 20 minutes before processing.

If you would like the bread to have a hearty, sour flavor, reduce the sourdough temperature to 26-28°C and increase the starter amount by 5%. Breads made with 10% starter sourdough and a sourdough temperature of 23-25°C have a particularly strong and sour taste.

With rye dough, I recommend “slow kneading” and only switching to fast shortly before the end of the mixing time (15 seconds). By quickly kneading for a short time, some air is worked into the dough! This creates a buoyant and loose crumb. The mixing time varies depending on the model of the kneading machine, dough size, flour quality and dough consistency.

Recipe

2 examples of different sourdoughs (hearty/strong)

Hearty Sourdough:

1) Foundation Sour:

  •     6g Starter (5%)
  •   65g Water
  • 130g Rye Flour / Type 960

TA: 150     DT: 26-28°C  RT: 15-24 Stunden

2) Full Sour:

  • 201g Foundation Sour
  • 325g Water
  • 260g Rye Flour / Type 960

TA: 200 DT: 30°C  RT: 3 Hours

Stronger Sourdough:

1) Foundation Sour:

  •   13g Starter
  •   65g Water
  • 130g Rye Flour / Type 960

TA: 150    TT: 23-25°C RT: 15-24 Hours

2) Full Sour:

  • 201g Foundation Sour
  • 305g Water
  • 240g Rye Flour / Type 960

TA: 200 TT: 30°C  RT: 3 Hours

Main dough:

  •       + Sourdough (Either heart or strong)
  • 590g Rye Flour Type 960
  • 340g Water
  •    22g Sea salt
  •    20g Yeast

Knead all ingredients on slow for 5 minutes and shortly before the end increase the speed to fast and mix for 15 seconds. After a short rest time of 15-20 minutes, divide the dough and form into round loaves – see here.

With the seam-side down, place in a proofing basket. Once ⅔ proofed, turn out onto a baking peel. Slide into a preheated oven (250-260°C) with a delayed steam addition. Reduce oven to  200°C after 10 minutes and bake until crusty. Bake the rye loaf for about 50-55 minutes.

Eingereicht auf YeastSpotting

100% Roggenlaib

Nach einer kurzen Pause geht es mit einem 100% Roggenbrot ab ins Wochenende. Reine Roggenbrote sind im Geschmack etwas kräftiger und in der Frischhaltung sehr gut. Bei reinen Roggenbroten sollte man jedoch bei Rezepten die Wassermenge, Backzeiten und Hefemengen nur als Richtwerte sehen.

Ich bin zwar einer von der Sorte mit langer Teigreife, aber bei reinen Roggenbroten finde ich die lange Teigreife nach dem Kneten nicht notwendig! Da der Teig kein Weizenmehl enthaltet, bilden sich auch beim Mischen keine Kleberstränge. – also warum dann den Teig großartig lange stehen lassen? Der Geschmack bei Roggenbroten wird ausschließlich vom Sauerteig gebildet, daher genügt eine 20 Minuten Teigreife vor dem Aufarbeiten.

Wer Brote gerne einem herzhaft-säuerlichen Geschmack möchte, senkt die Sauerteigtemperatur auf 26-28°C und erhöht das Anstellgut auf 5%. Besonders kräftig-säuerlich schmecken die Brote mit 10% Anstellgut und einer Sauerteigtemperatur von 23-25°C .

Empfehlenswert bei Roggenteigen ist die „Langsamknetung“, wobei kurz vor dem Ende der Mischzeit (15 sek) auf den schnellen Gang geschaltet wird.  Durch das kurze Kneten am schnellen Gang, wird noch etwas Luft in den Teig eingearbeitet! Dies bewirkt eine lebhafte und lockere Krume. Die Mischzeit ist je nach Knetmaschinenmodel, Teiggröße, Mehlqualität und Teigbeschaffenheit verschieden.

Rezept

2 Beispiele  für verschiedene Sauerteige (Herzhaft / Kräftig)

Herzhafter Sauerteig:

1) Grundsauer:

  •     6g Anstellgut (5%)
  •   65g Wasser
  • 130g Roggenmehl / Type 960

TA: 150     TT: 26-28°C      RZ: 15-24 Stunden

2) Vollsauer:

  • 201g Grundsauer
  • 325g Wasser
  • 260g Roggenmehl / Type 960

TA: 200     TT: 30°C      RZ: 3 Stunden

Kräftiger Sauerteig:

1) Grundsauer:

  •   13g Anstellgut
  •   65g Wasser
  • 130g Roggenmehl / Type 960

TA: 150    TT: 23-25°C     RZ: 15-24 Stunden

2) Vollsauer:

  • 201g Grundsauer
  • 305g Wasser
  • 240g Roggenmehl / Type 960

TA: 200    TT: 30°C      RZ: 3 Stunden

Hauptteig:

  •       + Sauerteig (Wahlweise Herzhaft oder Kräftig)
  • 590g Roggenmehl Type 960
  • 340g Wasser
  •    22g Meersalz
  •    20g Hefe

Alle Zutaten 5 Minuten am langsamen Gang Mischen und kurz vor Ende etwa 15 Sekunden schnell laufen lassen. Nach einer kurzen Reifezeit von 15 – 20 Minuten den Teig teilen und zu runden Laiben formen – siehe hier.

Mit dem Schluss nach unten in einen Gärkorb legen, und bei 2/3 Gare auf eine Backschaufel kippen. Im vorgeheizten Backrohr (250-260°C) mit etwas verzögerter Schwadengabe in den Ofen schieben. Ofen erst nach 10 Minuten auf 200°C zurückschalten und rösch ausbacken. Gebacken werden die Roggenlaibe etwa 50-55 Minuten.

Eingereicht auf YeastSpotting