Pane Bianco

Many readers have problems determining the length of the final proof, so you should know the following: The final proof is the rise time of the formed dough pieces until they are put into the oven. During this time, the dough pieces should reach the optimal proof (oven ready).

During the final proof the following occurs:

  • Leavening by the yeast and/or sourdough
  • Enzymatic degradation of gluten and starch

The leavening takes place mainly through the fermentation of the yeast (CO2) or through the heterofermentative lactobacilli in the sourdough (also in the wheat sourdough). Under the gas pressure, the existing pores expand to two to three times their size. This makes the pore walls thinner.

The enzymatic breakdown of the wheat gluten by proteinases leads to the softening of the gluten. This allows the pores to expand more easily. Amylases break down the starch into malt sugar and dextrins. Malt sugar serves the yeast as nourishment and thus promotes the formation of motive gas. The by-products of fermentation contribute to the aroma and taste of the baked goods.

Fermentation stability:

This is understood to mean the gas retention capacity of doughs in relation to gas development. The fermentation stability of wheat dough depends on the gas retention capacity of the gluten. In the case of short doughs (firm doughs), the adhesive membrane tears, the propellant gases escape and the volume is lost.

Fermentation tolerance:

The fermentation tolerance describes the insensitivity of the ripe dough pieces to exceeding the optimal fermentation maturity. This is the period in which the ripe, fully proofed dough pieces can withstand the increasing gas pressure.

The fermentation tolerance has been exceeded when the gluten tears due to the pressure of the fermentation gases and the dough pieces go flat.

Duration of the final proof:

Depends on the following factors:

  • Type of dough: Wheat doughs always ferment longer than rye dough
  • Ingredients: High amounts of yeast and high dough temperatures shorten the proofing time. Dough rich in fat or firm doughs will lengthen the cooking time.
  • Size of the dough pieces: Large dough pieces require a longer dough maturation

Determination of full proofing:

The proofing state can be determined by the appearance (visual) of the dough shape or by touching (sensory) the dough pieces with the fingers. The decision about the oven readiness requires a lot of experience. Whether a dough is sufficiently leavened and can be solidified by the baking process is not only determined by the stretch resistance of the surface of the dough, but also by the behavior of the pressure point.

The behavior of a small dimple made in the bread with three fingers either will spring back fully, remain indented, or slowly refill. In the last case the correct time has been reached to put the bread in the oven. The first case is too soon and the second case the optimum time has already passed. 

As a corrective measure, the oven program can be adjusted to the level of deviation from the optimum level of proofing. If found to be over proofed, the oven temperature should be 10-20°C above normal, as these doughs only “pull up” through intense heat, i.e. do not flatten and quickly form a stable crust. In the other case, with a so-called scarce proof, the temperature adjustment must be slower, so a slightly colder oven and a higher (more) volume of steam can compensate for the scarce proofed doughs.

Summarized:

Scare proof:

  • Stronger resistance 
  • Dimple vanishes quickly

Full proof:

  • Lower resistance
  • Dimple vanishes slowly or
  • Dimple remains visible

Use of the different proofing states:

Scarce proof:

  • Covered, coated or scored bread and pastries
  • Shaped rolls (Salzstangerl, Handkaiser, …)
  • Cool ovens (ovens that only reach 240 ° C for various reasons)
  • heavy and high-fat doughs

Two-thirds proof:

  • Breads that come off the baking peel
  • Standardized pastries with built up layers (puff pastry)
  • Fried pastries (donuts)

Full proof:

  • Bread in a baking pan
  • Rolls made with high gluten flour( French T65 / T80, Italian Tipo 0 / 00)
  • Breads with a smooth surface
  • Bread and rolls that are spritzed before baking

Baking errors from overshooting the proof:

  • Smaller volume
  • Coarse / irregular pores
  • Flat shape
  • Stodgy 

Causes:

  • The gluten matrix is blown up by too much fermentation gases – this overstretched the gluten.
  • The dough pieces can no longer withstand the strong expansion of the fermentation gases during the oven spring. The pore walls tear and the pores collapse.

Recipe

Poolish:

  • 125g Tipo 00
  • 125g Water (15C°)
  •     1g Yeast

Hydration(TA): 200 Maturity time: 18-48 hours at 4°C  DT: 22°C reduced to 4°C

Wheat sourdough:

  • 120g Wheat flour Type 1600 or T80
  •   70g Water (35C°)
  •   10g Starter

Hydration(TA): 158 DT: 30°C reduced to room temperature Maturity time: 18-30 hours

Main dough:

  • 251g Mature poolish
  • 200g Maure wheat sourdough
  • 700g Tipo 00
  • 510g Water (15°C)
  •   18g Salt
  •     5g Yeast
  • Mix all ingredients except for yeast and salt for 2 minutes and let stand to autolyze for 30 minutes. 
  • Then add the salt and yeast and mix slowly for 8 minutes and knead on fast for 304 minutes. 
  • After kneading, store the dough in an oiled tub. 
  • Fold the dough after 40/80 minutes.
  • After a total dough maturity time of 120 minutes, the dough is divided into 3 equal-sized pieces.
  • Now fold all of the sides into the middle and place in a well floured proofing basket to proof (mine proofed for 8 hours at 5°C in the refrigerator). If the cold proof is prolonged to 12-15 hours, the dough maturity time must be shortened to 90 minutes (fold after 30/60 minutes). 
  • Preheat the oven to 250°C, turn the dough out onto the bread peel directly from the oven, score, and slide into an oven full of steam
  • After 15 minutes, reduce the oven to 220°C and bake until well browned. In order to get a stronger crust, the steam can be let out toward the end of the baking time by opening the oven door briefly. (total baking time of about 35 minutes)

Pane Bianco

Vielen Lesern bereitet das bestimmen der Stückgare Probleme, daher sollte man folgendes wissen: Die Stückgare ist die Garzeit der geformten Teiglinge bis zum Einschießen in den Ofen. In dieser Zeit sollen die Teiglinge die optimale Gärreife (Ofenreife) erreichen.

Während der Stückgare finden folgende Reifungsvorgänge statt:

  • Lockerung durch Hefe und/oder Sauerteig
  • Enzymatischer Abbau des Klebers und der Stärke

Die Lockerung erfolgt hauptsächlich durch die Gärung der Hefe (CO2) bzw. durch die heterofermentativen Laktobazillen im Sauerteig (auch im Weizensauerteig). Unter den Gasdruck dehnen sich die vorhandenen Poren auf die zwei- bis dreifache Größe aus. Dadurch werden die Porenwände dünner.

Der enzymatische Abbau des Weizenklebers durch Proteinasen führt zum Erweichen des Klebers. Dadurch können sich die Poren leichter ausdehnen. Amylasen bauen die Stärke zu Malzzucker und Dextrinen ab. Malzzucker dient der Hefe als Nahrung und fördert dadurch die Triebgasbildung. Weiters tragen die Gärprodukte zur Aroma-  und Geschmacksbildung der Gebäcke bei.

Gärstabilität:

Darunter versteht man das Gashaltevermögen von Teigen im Verhältnis zur Gasentwicklung. Die Gärstabilität von Weizenteigen hängt vom Gashaltevermögen des Klebers ab. Bei kurzen Teigen (festen Teigen) reißen die Klebermembrane, die Triebgase entweichen und das Volumen geht verloren.

Gärtoleranz:

Die Gärtoleranz bezeichnet die Unempfindlichkeit der reifen Teiglinge gegen das Überschreiten der optimalen Gärreife. Das ist jener Zeitraum, in dem die reifen, fertig gegarten Teiglinge dem stärkeren werdenden Gasdruck standhalten.

Die Gärtoleranz ist überschritten, wenn der Kleber durch den Druck der Gärgase reißt und die Teiglinge dadurch breit treiben.

Dauer der Stückgare:

Sie hängt von folgenden Faktoren ab:

  • Teigart: Weizenteige gären grundsätzlich länger als Roggenteige
  • Zutaten: Hohe Hefemengen und hohe Teigtemperaturen verkürzen die Gare. Fettreiche und feste Teig verlängern die Gare.
  • Größe der Teiglinge: Große Teiglinge benötigen eine längere Teigreife

Feststellung der Gärreife:

Der Gärzustand kann am Aussehen (optisch) der Teigform oder durch Abtasten (sensorisch) der Teiglinge mit den Fingern festgestellt werden. Die Entscheidung über die Ofenreife erfordert viel Erfahrung. Ob ein Produkt ausreichend gelockert ist und durch den Backprozess verfestigt werden kann, entscheidet nicht allein der Dehnwiederstand der Teiglingsoberfläche, sondern auch das verhalten der Druckstelle.

Die von drei Fingern erzeugte, wenige Millimeter tiefe Druckstelle kann schnell wieder ausgefüllt werden, bestehen bleiben oder langsam zum Ausgleich führen. Im letzten Fall ist der richtige Zeitpunkt zum Einschieben in den Ofen erreicht, die erste Situation zeigt einen zu frühen Zeitpunkt und die zweite weist auf das Überschreiten des Optimums hin.

Als Korrekturmaßnahme kann das Ofenprogramm an die Abweichung vom Optimum der Ofenreife ausgeglichen werden. Wenn eine Überreife festgestellt wird, sollte die Ofentemperatur um 10-20°C über der normalen liegen, da diese Teiglinge nur durch intensive Hitze noch „Hochziehen“, also nicht flacher werden und schnell eine stabile Kruste erreichen. Im anderen Fall, bei sogenannter knapper Gare, muss die Temperaturerhöhung langsamer erfolgen, deshalb können ein etwas kälterer Ofen und eine höhere (mehr) Schwadenmenge  einen Ausgleich zur kurzen Stückgare bringen.

Zusammengefasst:

Knappe Gare:

  • starker Wiederstand
  • Druckste verschwindet schnell

Volle Gare:

  • geringer Wiederstand
  • Druckstelle verschwindet langsam oder
  • Druckstelle bleibt sichtbar

Verwendung der unterschiedlichen Gärzustände:

Knappe Gare:

  • bestrichenes, bestreutes oder geschnittenes Brot und Gebäck
  • Ausbundgebäck (Salzstangerl, Handkaiser,…)
  • kühler Ofen (Öfen die aus div. Gründen nur 240°C erreichen)
  • schwere und Fettreiche Teige

Zwei-Drittel Gare:

  • manuell eingeschobenes Brot (Backschaufel)
  • Ausbundgebäck mit exakter Lagenbildung (Plunderteig)
  • Siedegebäck (Krapfen /Berliner)

Volle Gare:

  • Brot in Kastenform
  • Gebäck aus Kleberstarken Mehl ( französische Mehle T65 / T80, italienische Mehle Tipo 0 / 00)
  • Gebäcke mit glatter Oberfläche
  • Brot und Gebäck das vor dem Backen nur besprüht wird

Gebäcksfehler durch Überschreiten der Gare:

  • Kleines Volumen
  • Grobe / unregelmäßige Porung
  • Flache Form
  • Verklebter Ausbund

Ursache:

  • Das Klebernetz wird durch zu viele Gärgase aufgetrieben – dabei wird der Kleber überdehnt.
  • Die Teiglinge halten den starken Ausdehnungen der Gärgase beim Ofentrieb nicht mehr Stand. Die Porenwände reißen, und die Poren fallen zusammen.

Rezept

Poolish:

  • 125g Tipo 00
  • 125g Wasser (15C°)
  •     1g Hefe

TA: 200     TR: 18-48 Std bei 4°C      TT: 22°C fallend auf 4°C

Weizensauer:

  • 120g Weizenmehl Type 1600 oder T80
  •   70g Wasser (35C°)
  •   10g Anstellgut

TA: 158     TT: 30°C fallende Raumtemperatur    TR: 18-30 Stunden

Hauptteig:

  • 251g reifes Poolish
  • 200g reifer Weizensauer
  • 700g Tipo 00
  • 510g Wasser (15°C)
  •   18g Salz
  •     5g Hefe
  • Alle Zutaten außer Hefe und Salz 2 Minuten am langsamen Gang vermischen und 30 Minuten zur Autolyse stehen lassen.
  • Danach Salz und Hefe beigeben und 8 Minuten langsam mischen und 3-4 Minuten schnell kneten.
  • Nach dem Kneten Teig in einer beölten Wanne lagern.
  • Den Teig nach 40/80 Minuten falten.
  • Nach einer gesamten Teigreife von 120 Minuten wird der Teig in 3 gleich große Stücke geteilt.
  • Die Teigstücke nun von allen Seiten in die Mitte falten und mit dem Teigschluss nach oben in gut bemehlten Gärkorben garen lassen (meine reiften für 8 Stunden bei 5°C im Kühlschrank). Sollte die kühle Gare auf 12-15 Stunden ausgedehnt werden, so muss die Teigreife auf 90 Minuten verkürzt werden (falten nach 30/60 Minuten).
  • Backrohr auf 250°C vorheizen, Brot direkt aus dem Kühlschrank auf den Backschieber kippen, schneiden und mit Schwaden in den Ofen schieben.
  • Nach 15 Minuten Ofen auf 220°C zurückschalten und kräftig ausbacken. Um ein kräftige Kruste zu bekommen, kann gegen Ende der Backzeit der Schwaden durch kurzes öffnen der Backofentür abgelassen werden (gesamte Backzeit ca. 35 Minuten)